New Mexico Tech Faculty Senate Standing Committees 2014 - 2015 Academic Year

The following is the slate of officers awaiting confirmation at October 2014 meeting Chair: Dave Raymond Vice-Chair: Kevin Wedeward Parliamentarian: Steve Simpson

The following is the committee list, which was ratified at our September 2014 meeting.

Members who remain on a committee for a second year should meet to designate a chair, and forward the names of all chairs to the Office for Academic Affairs for posting on its web site.

Academic Standards and Admissions Committee (2-year term with a 2/3 rotation):

2013-2015 Jeff Altig, Bill Chávez, Seokbin Lim 2014-2016 Lisa Young*, Andrei Zagrai

Ex-Officio Members: Registrar, Director of Admission, Associate Dean for Student Success, Director of Financial Aid

Student Discipline Committee (2-year term, with a 2/3 rotation) 2013-2015 Ivan Avramidi, Anders Jorgensen, Alexander Prusin

2014-2016 Elaine DeBrine, Hamdy Soliman

Ex-Officio Members: Student Representative

Honorary Degrees & Awards Committee (2-year term, with a 1/2 rotation): 2013-2015 Mike Heagy 2014-2016 Frank Huang, Snezna Rogelj

Nominating Committee (2-year term, with a 2/2 rotation): 2013-2015 Bruce Harrison, Snezna Rogelj * 2014-2016 Rosário Durão, Claudia Wilson

Computing on Campus (2-year term, with a 3/3 rotation): 2013-2015 Mehrdad Razavi, Abdelmounaam Rezgui, Zun Zheng 2014-2016 Brian Borchers, Raul Morales-Juberias, Jolante van Wijk, Nadir Yilmaz

Ex-Officio Members: Director of Academic Computing, Library Director, Dean of Students, Director of Information, Technology and Communications, Director of the Academic Center for Technology, Undergraduate Student Representative and Graduate Student Representative

ADA (2-year term, with a 2/3 rotation): 2013-2015 Maggie Griffin, Mark Samuels 2014-2016 Rosário Durão, Tie Wei, Dave Westpfahl* Ex-Officio Members: Director Counseling and Disability Services, Director Affirmative Action and a Student Representative

Assessment Committee (2-year term, with a 2/3 rotation):

2013-2015 Annette LaRussa, Hamdy Soliman*, Scott Teare 2014-2016 Sally Pias, Dave Westpfahl Ex-Officio Members: Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs, Director of the Office for Student Learning, the Director of Admission, the Registrar (who is also the Higher Ed Coordinator) and a Student Representative

Retention Committee (2-year term, with a 2/3 rotation):

2013-2015 Brian Borchers, David Burleigh, Chelsey Hargather 2014-2016 Sally Pias, Annette LaRussa

Ex-Officio Members: Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs, Associate Dean for Student Success, the Director of the Office for Student Learning, the Director of Admission, the Registrar (who is also the Higher Ed Coordinator) and a Student Representative

Distance Education Committee (2-year term, with a 2/3 rotation):

2013-2015 Yongtao Dong, Elizabeth Kramer-Simpson, Rebecca Reiss 2014-2016 Dan Cadol,*Annette LaRussa

Ex-Officio Members: Director of the Academic Center for Technology, Registrar, Director of Information, Technology and Communications and the Director of Academic Computing

Ombudspersons (2-year term, one representative from faculty, one from staff): 2014-2016 Dave Johnson, Pete Martinez

Academic Freedom & Tenure (2-year term, with a 2/3 rotation):

2013-2015 Robert Cormack, Mike Heagy, Tom Kieft 2014-2016 Ivan Avramidi, Ken Minschwaner

Budget & Research Committee (3-year term, with a 2/2/2 rotation): 2012-2015 John Starrett, Fred Phillips 2013-2016 Ashok Ghosh, Richard Sonnenfeld 2014-2017 Bill Stone, Ken Minschwaner

Space Utilization (2-year term, with a 2/3 rotation): 2013-2015 Paul Arendt, Anders Jorgensen 2014-2016 Dave Burleigh, Dave Westpfahl, Oliver Wingenter

Ex-Officio Members: Director of Facilities Planning, Registrar and a Student Representative

Sabbatical (2-year term, with a 2/3 rotation):

2013-2015 Frank Huang, Jamie Kimberley* 2014-2016 Paul Fuierer, Peter Mozley, Sharon Sessions

Faculty Development Committee (2-year term, with a 2/3 rotation):

2013-2015 Bill Stone, Claudia Wilson 2014-2016 Wes Cook, Julie Ford, Jamie Voyles

Ex-Officio Member: Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs

Benefits Committee (2-year term, with a 2/3 rotation): 2013-2015 Rakhim Aitbayev, Brian Borchers, Sharon Sessions 2014-2016 Bruce Harrison*, Patience Lyman

Regents-Faculty Conference Committee (2-year term with 2/2 rotation, half Engineering and half Arts & Sciences Faculty): 2013-2015 Gary Axen, Navid Mojtabai

2013-2016 Richard Sonnenfeld, Michael Hargather Permanent Members: Dean of Engineering, Dean of Arts and Sciences, Faculty Senate Chair