## New Mexico Tech Physics

## Department Meeting Agenda – Tuesday, 3/28/2017

## 352 Workman, 16:00-17:00

## Faculty Notetaker: Carlos Lopez-Carillo

- 1. Call to order
- 2. Approval of minutes of February 2017
- 3. Announcements
  - a. Instrumentation Ph.D. language (Sonnenfeld)
- 4. Committee Reports
  - a. Admissions Update (MCE)
  - b. Search Update (Eack)
- 5. Old Business
- 6. New Business
  - a. End-game for Faculty Search (Sonnenfeld/Eack)
  - b. Awards

```
i. Prior Winners
2015
-Brook Award Matthias Banet
-Fallon Award Tina Gueth
-Wilkening Award- Jeff Lapierre
-Petschek Award - Shannon Tunney
2016
-Brook Award Thomas Dearing and Isaac Williams
-Fallon Award Brandon Gray
-Wilkening Award- Daniel Jensen
-Petschek Award -Stipo Sentic and Matthias Banet
```

- ii. Wilkening (graduating student, instrument skills)
- iii. Petscheck Award (\$1500): Given to junior, senior or graduate student who has exhibited outstanding and sustained achievement in the field of physics, preferably theoretical physics.
- iv. Brook Award (\$650) Given to a student who has demonstrated excellence in physics. The prize is given at the end of the junior year.

	J J	
900329964	Araujo, Timothy	Junior
900328232	Barnett, Carson	Junior
900312166	Chowdhury, Keato	n Junior
900329087	Flores, Irving	Junior
900328801	Garcia, Erica	Junior
900322432	Johnson, Nekeish	a Junior
900313800	Kao, Malia Juni	or
900307022	Klosterman, Stef	an Junior
900331152	Leiggi, Marshall	Junior
900319398	Ortiz, Andres	Junior
900323932	Palmer, Sean	Junior
900287029	Reeves, James	Junior
900321972	Schmidt, Emma	Junior
900320986	Walaitis, Dawn	Junior
900328541	Griffin, Gavin	Junior

7. Adjournment