New Mexico Tech Faculty Senate Standing Committees 2016 - 2017 Academic Year

Executive Committee (We need others to run for officers!) Chair: Tom Kieft Vice-Chair: Steve Simpson Parliamentarian: Brian Borchers

Academic Freedom and Tenure (2-year term, with a 2/3 rotation): 2015-2017 Sue Bilek, Doug Dunston, Anwar Hossain 2016-2018 Fred Phillips, Clint Richardson

Academic Standards and Admissions (2-year term with a 2/3 rotation):

2015-2017 Jeff Altig, Bill Chávez, Chelsey Hargather

2016-2018 Lisa Young, Andrei Zagrai

Ex-Officio Members: Registrar, Director of Admission, Associate Dean for Student Success, Director of Financial Aid

ADA (2-year term, with a 2/3 rotation):

2015-2017 Sanchari Chowdhury, Mark Samuels

2016-2018 Rosário Durão, Benjamin Duval, Dave Westpfahl*

Ex-Officio Members: Director Counseling and Disability Services, Director Affirmative Action and a Student Representative

Assessment (2-year term, with a 2/3 rotation):

2015-2017 Abdelmounaam Rezgui, Hamdy Soliman

2016-2018 Liliya Frolova, Sally Pias, Dave Westpfahl*

Ex-Officio Members: Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs, Director of the Office for Student Learning, the Director of Admission, the Registrar (who is also the Higher Ed Coordinator) and a Student Representative

Benefits (2-year term, with a 2/3 rotation):

2015-2017 Taylor Dotson, Corey Leclerc, Stewart Thompson 2016-2018 Bruce Harrison*, Reynaldo Maestas

Budget & Research (3-year term, with a 2/2/2 rotation):

2014-2017 Ken Minschwaner*, Bill Stone

2015-2018 Michael Heagy, Tom Kieft

2016-2018 Subhasish Mazumdar, Dave Meier

Computing on Campus (2-year term, with a 3/3 rotation):

2015-2017 Michael Hargather, Raul Morales-Juberias, Abdelmounaam Rezgui

2016-2018 Rakhim Aitbayev, Brian Borchers, Anders Jorgensen

Ex-Officio Members: Director of Academic Computing, Library Director, Dean of Students, Director of Information, Technology and Communications, Director of the Academic Center for Technology, Undergraduate Student Representative and Graduate Student Representative

Distance Education (2-year term, with a 2/3 rotation):

2015-2017 Elizabeth Kramer-Simpson, Frank Reinow

2016-2018 Jeff Altig, Dan Cadol*, Nadir Yilmaz

Ex-Officio Members: Director of the Academic Center for Technology, Registrar, Director of Information, Technology and Communications and the Graduate Dean

Education and Research Efficiency (4-year term with 1/1/1/1 rotation):

2014-2017 Gary Axen 2014-2018 Richard Sonnenfeld 2014-2019 Tom Kieft 2016-2020 Mehrdad Razavi

Faculty Development (2-year term, with a 2/3 rotation): 2015-2017 Kip Carrico, Taffeta Elliott, Claudia Wilson* 2016-2018 Julie Ford*, Shawn Higgins Ex-Officio Member: Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs

Honorary Degrees & Awards (2-year term, with a 1/2 rotation): 2015-2017 Tom Engler 2016-2018 Rene Arechiga, Bhaskar Majumdar

Nominating (2-year term, with a 2/2 rotation): 2015-2017 Raul Morales-Juberias, Mark Samuels* 2016-2018 Rosário Durão, Claudia Wilson

Ombudspersons (2-year term, one representative from faculty, one from staff): 2016-2018 Pete Martinez, Michaelann Tartis

Regents-Faculty Conference (2-year term with 2/2 rotation, half Engineering and half Arts & Sciences Faculty): 2015-2017 Gary Axen, Navid Mojtabai 2016-2018 Tom Engler, Mike Heagy Permanent Members: Dean of Engineering, Dean of Arts and Sciences, Graduate Dean, Faculty Senate Chair

Retention (2-year term, with a 2/3 rotation):

2015-2017 Brian Borchers, Pabitra Choudhury, Michelle Creech-Eakman

2016-2018 Dave Burleigh, Wes Cook

Ex-Officio Members: Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs, Associate Dean for Student Success, the Director of the Office for Student Learning, the Director of Admission, the Registrar (who is also the Higher Ed Coordinator) and a Student Representative

Sabbatical (2-year term, with a 2/3 rotation):2015-2017 Peter Hofner, Alexander Prusin2016-2018 Sekhar Bhattacharyya, Anders Jorgensen, Jamie Kimberly*

Space Utilization (2-year term, with a 2/3 rotation):

2015-2017 Taffeta Elliott, Dale Henneke

2016-2018 Carlos López-Carrillo, Jolante van Wijk, Andrei Zagrai

Ex-Officio Members: Director of Facilities Planning, Registrar and a Student Representative

Student Discipline (2-year term, with a 2/3 rotation)

2015-2017 Ivan Avramidi, Alexander Prusin, Hamid Rahnema

2016-2018 Elaine DeBrine, Hamdy Soliman*

Ex-Officio Members: Student Representative